Languages

SDG Voices

Share this on

UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon has appointed a number of global ambassadors for the Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development, including Lionel Messi and Shakira, as well as our Queen Mathilde. For three years in a row, the Federal Institute for Sustainable Development has been choosing a number of ambassadors or ‘SDG Voices’ to raise interest in the SDGs among the general public. In 2019, this honour will go to the following six organisations: FairFin, VIA Don Bosco, Rikolto, Janssen Pharmaceutica (J&J), Hidrodoe and Ubuntu Festival.

SELECTION PROCEDURE

In 2017, the FIDO worked together with The Shift (link is external) to choose the 8 SDG Voices by means of a double selection procedure: the Dutch-language 11.11.11 and their French-language counterpart CNCD,  the Society for a Better Environment, Colruyt Group, Duo for a Job, GoodPlanet, Le Mouvement Action Paysanne and the City of Ghent. First a nomination committee, composed of 17 experts from civil society, proposed a list of organisations that they felt had the most potential to represent the SDGs in Belgium. From this longer list, a jury of communication experts chose the eight organisations that were best equipped to reach a large audience. Follow this link to find all the members of the nomination committee and the jury (link is external).

In 2018 and 2019, the Federal Institute for Sustainable Development launched a project group to find 6 new organisations with a passion for the SDGs. A jury of experts have selected six new SDG Voices from the submissions made, taking account of the scope, feasibility and the creative and inspirational nature of the projects submitted. In 2018, it was the Metro newspaper, travel agency Joker, Natagora, VBO-FEB, MOOOV Film Festival and VVSG that were chosen to represent the SDGs. 

THE SDGS IN PRACTICE

The SDG Voices not only inform people about the SDGs, but also encourage them to roll up their sleeves and get involved themselves with all manner of inspirational initiatives. Owing to their work in the past, all the organisations chosen can boast a credible list of achievements in the field of sustainable development and know the SDGs inside out. This is what makes them the ideal ambassadors to translate the SDGs into concrete actions and initiatives. An overview of the initiatives undertaken by these organisations can also be found here on this website.

Languages

SDG Voices

Share this on

Le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, monsieur Ban Ki-Moon, a désigné aux quatre coins du globe des ambassadeurs du Programme de Développement durable à l’horizon 2030. Parmi eux, Lionel Messi et Shakira, mais aussi notre Reine Mathilde. L’Institut fédéral pour le Développement durable élit lui aussi chaque année une série d’ambassadeurs ou « SDG Voices » qui promeuvent les SDGs auprès du grand public. En 2019, Via Don Bosco, Ubuntu Festival, Janssen Pharmaceutica (J&J), Hidrodoe et Fairfin peuvent se targuer de porter le titre de « SDG Voice 2019 ».  

Procédure de sélection

En 2017, l’IFFD, en collaboration avec The Shift, a sélectionné 8 SDG Voices au moyen d’une double procédure de sélection:  le CNCD et son pendant néerlandophone 11.11.11,  Bond Beter Leefmileu, Colruyt Group, Duo for a Job, GoodPlanet, Le Mouvement Action Paysanne et la ville de Gand. Un comité de nomination composé de 17 experts issus de la société civile a tout d’abord dressé une liste d’organisations qui, à leur sens, présentaient le plus grand potentiel pour promouvoir les SDGs en Belgique. Un jury d’experts en communication a retenu, parmi cette longue liste, huit organisations capables de sensibiliser au mieux le grand public. Vous retrouverez sur le lien suivant l’ensemble des membres du comité de nomination et du jury.

En 2018 et 2019, l’Institut fédéral pour le Développement durable a lancé un appel à projets en vue de dénicher 6 nouvelles organisations passionnées par les SDGs. Un jury de experts issus du secteur public et de la société civile a sélectionné six nouvelles SDG Voices parmi les dossiers reçus. Pour ce faire, il a été tenu compte de la faisabilité, de l’ampleur ainsi que du caractère inspirant et créatif des projets introduits. En 2019, Joker, Natagora, la FEB-VBO, la VVSG, MOOOV et le quotidien Metro peuvent se targuer de composer les « SDG Voice 2018 ».

Les SDGS en pratique

Non seulement les SDG Voices informent les citoyens à propos des SDGs, mais elles poussent aussi à l’action grâce à diverses initiatives inspirantes. Fortes du travail qu’elles ont accompli par le passé, toutes les organisations élues affichent un palmarès éloquent en matière de développement durable et les SDGs n’ont plus de secrets pour elles. Elles sont dès lors les parfaites ambassadrices pour traduire les SDGs en actions et initiatives concrètes. Retrouvez ici un aperçu des initiatives lancées par ces 8 organisations.